Alert Message

Earnest Reviews

Earnest Student Loan Refinancing Reviews

4.8/5 ( 148 reviews )
Jun 25, 2018

Easy process and very helpful.

Earnest made the stressful process of paying off high rate school loans simply painless and at a GREAT RATE! They helped me through the entire process explaining every required document and answered every question. Downloading the documents could not have been easier. Everyone that I spoke to were extremely courteous and helpful and I received responses within 24 hours, or sooner, of any other documents required and my application required more documentation than normal. My approval answer came back very quickly.
Thank you Earnest!

Jordan M.
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus, Masters of Arts
Jun 13, 2018

Should have done it long ago!

After my variable rate kept making my payments go up, I finally said that’s it! I need to find a way to refinance. It was so easy with earnest! It was done in 24 hours and the application took no time at all! I loved getting to pick my terms as well! The slider feature let me compare different lengths and payment options.

Kaila B.
University of Miami, Bachelors
Jun 12, 2018

Thrilled with Refi Rate

When other companies wouldn't even consider refinancing my loan, Earnest not only made the process easy, they also gave me a better rate than I thought possible. Plus the process was so quick and painless.

Magdalena W.
California State University-Dominguez Hills, Bachelors
Jun 7, 2018

Great Experience!

I didn't even know refinancing my student loans was an option! So glad I found Earnest, they were able to drop by interest by 2%! The application was simple and I had someone in constant contact with me by phone and email during the entire loan process. I was able to make final decisions on my loan, like fixed vs. Variable. I was given an actual payoff date! My previous provider offered no help and no end ever in sight. I am so glad I found Earnest, I will be recommending to friends!!!

Christy Q.
University of Phoenix, Bachelors
Jun 4, 2018

Earnest Combines & Refinances School Loans

I had multiple school loans from going back to school to get my MBA. It seemed like every year the payment amount increased, and I would not be debt free until the ripe old age of 85. Earnest consolidated the loans and came up with a fixed payment plan that will allow me to not only pay them off 2 years earlier (saving that interest), but this allows me to budget for that payment and potentially pay it off even earlier! The experience was simple and straight forward. I would recommend Earnest to anyone with higher interest rate school loans.

Stacy W.
University of Texas at Dallas, MBA
Jun 4, 2018

This company is amazing

Ive been struggling with paying private student loans whose interest rate was variable and always increasing. I needed to desparately get away from this downward spiral so I found Earnest. In about 3 days I was approved, got a fixed intereat rate and more importantly, I was able to choose how much I wanted to pay on a monthly basis!! This company removed the school debt weight on my shoulders and Im so thankful. Anyone who has high interest rate private school loans should definitely look into Earnest

Cassandra E.
Southern Connecticut University, Bachelors
Jun 1, 2018

Easy, Fast, & Great Rates!!!

Thank you Earnest for making the loan process easy. I'm a Silicon Valley working mom with very limited time. The loan process from start to finish couldn't be easier! I was able to do it all in less than an hour from the ease of my computer. Never even had to speak to an agent. I'm telling all my friends and colleagues about Earnest.
THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

Jessica V.
University of San Francisco, Bachelors
Jun 1, 2018

Fast and easy

I'm so glad I refinanced my student loans with Earnest. No lengthy forms to complete. I was able to choose the length of my loan and received a much better interest rate than with my current lender. Simple and quick!

Jennifer M.
University of Nebraska at Omaha, PhD
Jun 1, 2018

Great experience

I am so relieved to be out of the Dept of Education loan program and working with Earnest. Everything about the online process was very clear and efficient. It went quickly and I knew where I was in the process every step of the way. Thank you for being an option to finally pay off this loan in a transparent way.

Breta M.
Argosy University-Phoneix Online Division, Masters of Arts
Jun 1, 2018

Great rate! Wow!

The only thing that I found annoying was that they could not consolidate my Sallie Mae and Discover Loans. So now I am still making multiple payments. But Earnest is such a good company and has the best rates out there so I wish they would have consolidated all my loans!

Alixe M.
Pennsylvania State University, Bachelors
May 26, 2018

Simple process

I applied and immediately got approved. After signing the agreement my student loan refinance was finalized and active in approximately 8 days. I went from having interest rates from 10.75 - 13.75% with Navient to a fixed 5.5% rate with Earnest and Earnest shortened the life of my loan by 25 months!

Tiffani S.
Auburn University, Bachelors
May 26, 2018

Quick and seamless

I have attempted to refinance my student loans through other competitors and it was difficult and disappointing. Earnest surprised me with how easy and seamless the refinance experience was. Within a day I had my answer. They allowed me to fully customize the term and rate and it was quick and easy. I highly recommend earnest to a all.

Anna M.
Purdue University, Bachelors
May 26, 2018

Easy application, quick approval, multiple loan options.

This subsidiary of Navient can help lower the rate of your student loan.
Beware of the consequences related to each entity and how they effect your abilities to repay. Fast and efficient loan processing. Lowered my interest rate better than 2% on a plus loan.

John N.
James Madison University, Bachelors
May 25, 2018

Excellent experience

Rather smooth process to consolidate loans - not a significant savings monthly but a savings nonetheless. App is great for balance checks, payments, etc and simple to use. Thanks

Richard K.
Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus, PhD
May 24, 2018

Awesome!

Process was very simple and quick. I thought that it was very suspicious that I was asked to log into my bank account but saw no negative reviews so I went thru with the application. Seamless process and excellent fixed rates.

Jessica L.
Trident Technical College, Associates
May 21, 2018

Amazing

I am so glad I found out about Earnest. The application process was so easy and the customer support has been so helpful whenever I had a question. I would recommend it to anyone with a student loan!

Daniela S.
Stony Brook University, Masters of Science or Engineering
May 21, 2018

Very helpful!

I couldn't be happier with the process. Very helpful people and easy application process.

Deric S.
North Carolina State University, MBA
May 20, 2018

Quick and easy

The process was simple and easy. Did not take much time at all. Got a lower payment and rate and will pay my loans off 12 years sooner.

Jacob C.
Trevecca Nazarene University, Masters of Science or Engineering
May 20, 2018

Quick and easy

I refinanced my loan to a lower rate in a few days. The process was simple and easy. Earnest will save me time and money.

Lynne H.
San Diego State University, Masters of Arts
May 20, 2018

Great service

Will recommend to others

Steven O.
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Bachelors
May 10, 2018

Customer service

Customer service has always been great when I've called in. Everyone is always so nice and friendly too

Abbigail G.
Wright State University, Bachelors
May 8, 2018

Made refinancing a cinch!

This was my second time refinancing my loans and it was super easy with earnest! The entire process from quote to signing and setting up my automatic payment. I'm saving myself several thousand dollars over the next few years while keeping my loan payment the same!

Caitlin S.
University of Toledo, Masters of Science
May 8, 2018

Quick and easy and overall good

I've only had a few minor issues with having to chase down the referral bonuses and such, but overall my experience has been very positive. My interest rate went down a lot which will save me a lot of money over the course of the loan.

Robert S.
University of Massachusetts-Lowell, Bachelors
May 6, 2018

Thoughtful company, looks at more information than competitors, issues better rates as a result

I have the most simple student loan refinance situation, good credit score, and solid income. However, I am married a file jointly and that fact reduced my standing with other re-fi companies. Earnest asked for more information up front, was able to discern a clearer picture of my credit worthiness, and was able to issue a very accurate rate estimate before I went through the complete credit check process. If you want to be treated like a human and still get the best rate out there, go with earnest.

Tanner B.
Virginia Tech, PhD
May 2, 2018

Seamless!

Easy website, very helpful customer reps and clean process. I’ve been recommending to everyone in my network!!

David K.
University of California-Los Angeles, MBA
May 2, 2018

Safe, Simple, and Convenient

Earnest was a no brainer for us. Having good credit got us a rate that was far below the average of all our school loans combined. Our payment is a bit higher but at least now we know our rate is the best we can get, it will not fluctuate and we are confident that we will have it paid off in 5 years. They ask for a lot of information from you but it's worth putting the time in to get the consolidation completed and it assures you that your information is being protected. I was able to complete almost the entire process online.

Kimberly J.
Wingate University, PharmD
May 2, 2018

Simple, quick, easy process

I have refinanced a few student loans for my wife and I. Earnest was by far the quickest and easiest process.

Steven M.
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Bachelors
Apr 21, 2018

Simple

The application process was quick and easy as well as the user platform. Much easier navigation than my previous student loan lender.

Jamie V.
Davenport University, MBA
Apr 20, 2018

Great service and rates

I refinanced my student loans with Earnest more than a year ago and, now that we're expecting our first baby, we refinanced a second time. Both times were smooth, positive experiences. PLUS - the rates offered were easily the best of all the competitors (and I checked). I appreciate all that Earnest has done for my family.

Haley R.
Southern Methodist University, Bachelors
Apr 20, 2018

Easy and convenient customer service

I was looking to get a lower interest rate and Earnest was the answer. So thankful I stumbled upon them while researching my options online. They took care of everything and made the transfer of my student loan easy and flawless. BEST. DECISION. EVER. Thanks Earnest! You saved me over $8,000!

Paula L.
Davenport University, Bachelors
Apr 20, 2018

Fluid

This has been a most satisfactory experience. Everything from submitting an application, the communication process, deciding on my loan options, and closing. The website and portal is easy and simple. Got a great rate above all.

Merrit Z.
Capital University, Bachelors
Apr 19, 2018

Easy and intuitive

The refinancing process was super easy and the web-portal is intuitive to use.

Curtis J.
Urshan Graduate School of Theology, Master of Arts
Apr 14, 2018

Better than SoFi

Loved SoFi but when it came time to refinance, I was surprised they couldn't come close to Earnest rates! The change was easy and fast. Should have found them years ago!

Michael H.
Kansas State University, Bachelors
Apr 10, 2018

All great service

Thank you for your great service!

Oveys H.
University of California-Los Angeles, DDS
Apr 9, 2018

Doing fine

Service is fine and functioning as expected. Online interface could be improved (especially as compared to SoFi's). I like being able to see the amount of interest accrual since last payment and principal balance easily on the first page and that is not possible now on the current web page.

Connor C.
Indiana University-Bloomington, Masters of Science
Apr 8, 2018

Helpful and friendly.

Everyone is helpful and friendly.

Christopher W.
Purdue University-Main Campus, PharmD
Apr 4, 2018

Overall professional

Overall a professional loan refinance company. Thourough in information and explanations. Customer service always timely and helpful. I was never placed on hold too long when I called. My email was responded to the next business day.

Maenne O.
University of Georgia, PharmD
Apr 3, 2018

Great deal; Effortless

I'm now going to pay off my student loans 5 years earlier than planned due to my refinance with Earnest. The application process was really easy, too. Thank you, Earnest!

Nathan R.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, JD
Apr 2, 2018

Responsive customer service

I really appreciate the knowledge and professionalism of Earnest's customer service team. I just wish it was a little easier to see the history of interest rates changes on my loan.

Heather H.
University of California, Los Angeles, Masters
Apr 2, 2018

Great Experience

I had a great experience recently in refinancing my student loans! The customer service was excellent and very helpful - the process quick. I'm very satisfied and have already let some of my friends know about it!

Ashley D.
George Mason Unviersity, Bachelors
Apr 2, 2018

The process was so smooth and professional!

I started the process and found that as I went each step of the way, instructions were clear and easy to follow. When I did my part, they did theirs. Everything fell into place and all was done relatively quickly.

Brenda H.
Palm Beach Atlantic University, Masters of Science or Engineering
Mar 28, 2018

Why the rigamarole?

Why not strive to offer your customers the best deals instead of making them jump through hoops to re-apply for a much better rate? Even re-applying was a pain as it didn't link up to your own system.

Eric H.
Colorado State University-Fort Collins, Bachelors
Mar 27, 2018

Easiest application and process I have gone through in years!

I had been trying to consolidate my federal and private loans for years, at least 8 to be exact, and until I found Earnest it was impossible to do so. Many refinancers didn't want to consolidate federal and private, many others had a much longer application process and their interest rates did not come close to what Earnest could offer me. Now, I am finally able to see light at the end of the tunnel with my student loans!

Carly W.
Lock Haven University, Bachelors
Mar 27, 2018

Very helpful, terrific experience

Support was great. No wait time. Customer service agent was kind, helpful and followed up later on. Seriously amazing customer service and greatly appreciated.

Steven G.
New York Institute of Technology, Bachelors
Mar 21, 2018

Amazing Customer Service

I have had to contact customer service for a few questions that I had. Each time my response was received complete and timely. I love, love, LOVE that Earnest has biweekly payment options so that I can align payments with my paydays! Much easier to maintain an accurate budget! Thank you, Earnest!!

Chrystal B.
Drake University, Bachelors
Mar 21, 2018

Consolidation made easy

I was in the trenches for quite some time before I came across Earnest. A few of the other bigger named consolidation service providers wouldn't work with me since my smaller named college wasn't in their databases. Earnest gladly worked with me and I'm extremely satisfied with the services they've provided. Through them I've greatly reduced my interest rates and monthly payments, without increasing my repayment terms significantly.

Kyle H.
Delaware College of Art and Design, Associates
Mar 21, 2018

Great and easy to use website

I am glad I chose Earnest. I like you guys as a company and I hope you only grow and find success in the future.

Abey J.
New York University, Bachelors
Mar 19, 2018

Success

I succeeded in finally refinancing my loans! (A goal of the last five years) Thanks Earnest! You won my heart for that action!

Cecilia D.
Eckerd College, Bachelors
Mar 18, 2018

Great refinancing experience!

I have refinanced with Earnest twice, both with no fees, and got great interest rates each time. They are very helpful with the process as well!

Jennifer A.
University of Maryland-Baltimore, PharmD
Mar 15, 2018

Start new loan

The process is very easy and smooth. The adviser was being really helpful with all my questions. Very pleasant experience

Annabel L.
Temple University School of Pharmacy, PharmD
Mar 15, 2018

Start new loan

The process is very easy and smooth. The adviser was being really helpful with all my questions. Very pleasant experience

Annabel L.
Temple University School of Pharmacy, PharmD
Mar 15, 2018

Easy process! I saved over 203k! refinancing with Earnest chaged my life!

Simply put, get a hold of your loans with Earnest now because you could be throwing money right out the window and not know it.

Rafael R.
Amerian InterContinental University-Atlanta, Bachelors
Mar 15, 2018

Great Customer Service

I previously had my loans at SoFi, but I heard of Earnest through a friend and I decided to look into them. I found that they were super easy to deal with, have very flexible terms, and amazing interest rates. The customer service is amazing. After some time, I decided to shop around for some lower interest rates, and Earnest offered to lower my interest and match what the competitors were giving me! I would recommend Earnest to all of my friends and family!

Susan B.
St. Louis College of Pharmacy, PharmD
Mar 15, 2018

Personal, thorough, fair

Love doing business with Earnest. Would recommend to friends and family.

Marie L
New Jersey City University, Bachelors
Mar 15, 2018

All around great

Best interest rates. Quick responses via text. Super friendly! Highly recommend Earnest!

Danielle K.
Baylor University, Bachelors
Mar 15, 2018

Easy, fast, flexible

I've been using Earnest for 18 months now. Originally, I was on a variable rate that started to climb. I started the process to refinance with another company when the folks at Earnest reached out to see if they could modify my loan to similar rates. Long story, short, they were able and did so very quickly allowing me to keep the payment flexibility I love with Earnest while getting a better fixed rate. Thank you!

Steven D.
UNC-Chapel Hill, DDS
Mar 9, 2018

Great Company

Everything has been great. My previous student loan company (Navient) clearly did not care about me or my repayment goals. Earnest lowered my fixed interest rate, shortened my payoff date and provided me $200 for transferring my student loans. Earnest is transparent and a great company.

Jasmine R.
Nova Southeastern University, Masters of Science
Mar 8, 2018

Great Experience, Highly Recommend!

This was a very fast, very pleasant experience. I was able to get updates via chat whenever I needed one, and overall the experience is great. I am saving a ton of money too by doing this refi. Highly recommend!!!

Derek A.
American InterContinental University, Bachelors
Mar 8, 2018

Excellent Company

Earnest is awesome and has tremendously helped me in getting my student loan under control. I even got a referral bonus. Can't say enough good things!!!

Nicole S.
DeVry University, Masters of Science
Mar 1, 2018

Simple

It was simple and the customer service was very helpful. Much better than sofi.

Katrina H.
Old Dominion University, Bachelors
Mar 1, 2018

Forward-looking Concept

Earnest offers a progressive take on lending, and surely they're able to approve many applicants that other lenders would not. They do this by examining an applicant's holistic financial picture, rather than focusing on factor (like credit score).

With that being said, I felt that my rate wasn't as low as possible. I work for a financial institution; here, the highest effective score is 710. I understand that companies such as Earnest are for "superprime" borrowers (usually), but I have strong cash flow, credit score, and employment history. Perhaps, I could have received a better rate elsewhere.

Moreover, the application process wasn't entirely friendly. They work with you to a degree, but it's nothing to write home about. My main concern is the application step when you link your accounts up into Earnest. It's counterproductive because it doesn't clearly display the open accounts and their values (tends to lump non-like accounts together when it doesn't understand & displays "N/A" in account balances).

Nicholas T.
Franklin University, Bachelors
Mar 1, 2018

Excellent Flexibility

I love the flexibility to change future payment amounts, payment frequency, and the ability to skip a payment once a year every six months. It is very nice that the first couple of features can be conpleted on the app as often as the customer would like - completely customer driven service.

Richard P.
Mercer University, MBA
Feb 25, 2018

Game Changer!

I was paying 10.5% variable interest on my student loans - by variable I mean only getting variably higher every 6 months. I decided it was time for a big change. I shopped around a little bit and Earnest gave me the best options to choose from. I was able to refinance my student loans for less than half of the interest I was paying before. In doing so, I was able to hack off 3 years of the life of my loan and I will save over $15,000 in interest. Best decision I ever made. Definitely recommend Earnest to anyone that is looking to better their financial future.

Jessica C.
University of Indianapolis, Bachelors
Feb 17, 2018

So glad I did this

The process was all done online. They were very easy to get along with very professional. I was able to refinance my student loans for a great savings fairly quickly

John S.
Drexel University, Masters of Arts
Feb 15, 2018

Simple

Very easy process refinancing my student loans. Customer service is always quick to reply.

William W.
Winona State University, Bachelors
Feb 13, 2018

Easy process & best rates

The entire process of refinancing one of my student loans was incredibly easy. They make everything very clear and digestible. After comparing rates from different companies, I chose to go with Earnest because they had the best rates options for my situation.

Veronica D
School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Bachelors
Feb 12, 2018

Competitive Rates, Straightforward application

Earnest has extremely competitive rates - certainly the lowest among the places I searched by a decent margin. The process to re-finance my student loans was pretty painless even with the extra depth of information needed in the application. When I needed to reach out for some help, the representative was friendly and helpful. All of this is great - the cherry on top for me is the ability to make a bi-weekly payment as opposed to a monthly one.

Adam N.
Colorado School of Mines, Bachelors
Feb 9, 2018

Simple process with no catch

I had the opportunity to first talk to a representative before I pulled the trigger and she was very helpful to provide me all the necessary information. I then went through the online steps to apply for a loan to refinance my student loans and t the whole process was very easy and on multiple occasions I reached out for clarification on some items and they were very helpful. In all I was able to refinance to a better rate and pay off my loan early with no penalty! Thanks Earnest for making this a super friendly and easy experience.

Nicholas W.
Michigan Technological University, Bachelors
Feb 7, 2018

Easy process

Easy process, helpful staff, great rates

James D.
Duke University - Fuqua School of Business, MBA
Feb 4, 2018

Simple!

The entire process was extremely simple and smooth.

Emily H.
A.T. Still University, DDS
Feb 2, 2018

Far and Above

I had tried on numerous attempts to refinance my student loans and every time there was some excuse by the loan company regarding credit history, or amount to refi, or that I hadn't completed my degree. I had never had the opportunity to explain myself, not that I need to because my life fell the way it did for a reason, but always thought having that option may help. The experience seemed more personal, and they staff and customer service I had received from the staff with online interactions was excellent. Always prompt with replies and seemingly happy to help. Thank you, Earnest and your team, you have helped lift a large weight off my shoulders and afford me the opportunity to finally be able to afford to finish off my degree!

Connor H.
Springfield College, Other
Jan 27, 2018

Great option if you have had high interest for way too long!

I have been hesitant to refinance my loans, but Earnest made it really easy. Their portal is very usable and their support team was super helpful in walking me through the loan transfer process. I recommend taking the step with them!

Heather R.
Loyola University Chicago, MBA
Jan 24, 2018

I refinanced my Med school loan.

The process was very easy and approval was quick!

Laura M.
Baylor College of Medicine, MD
Jan 23, 2018

Great.

Thank you for approving my loan. I'm really grateful and appreciate it.

Marco H.
South Texas College, Associates
Jan 19, 2018

Super user friendly!

Earnest has been so easy to understand & use. I was able to plug in all of my information and get a quick quote. I loved the visual of interest rate and payment options. The app is also user friendly! I couldn't be happier with my transition to Earnest (:

Stephanie R.
Michigan State University, Bachelors
Jan 16, 2018

Problem with dashboard.

No account number on dashboard.

Lucas C.
University of Colorado Denver - Anschutz Medical Campus, DDS
Jan 15, 2018

Earnest is a treat!

Great rates. Better customer service.

Patrick D.
University of Chicago, MBA
Jan 12, 2018

Quick and Easy.

Consolidating all of my student loans was quick and easy. Now I have one payment to worry about and I'm saving hundreds per month and knocked almost a decade off the term of my loans! It's like a burden has been lifted off my shoulders! Thanks Earnest!

Matthew M.
The New England Institute of Art, Bachelors
Jan 11, 2018

Impressed

I got a great rate on my own when all other lenders wanted a cosigner. Submitting all the info was easy. Reduced my monthly payment by about $500.

Alexandra P.
Anna Maria College, Bachelors
Jan 9, 2018

Fast, easy, great customer service.

I already had a loan with Earnest and I wanted to add an external loan and consolidate the whole thing at a lower rate. This was very easy and will save me $. Thanks!

James A.
Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, DO
Jan 9, 2018

Do for you what they say they will.

Favorable rates and lots of options on how to repay. So far so good.

Michael B.
Worcester State University, Bachelors
Jan 7, 2018

Easy to use and great rates.

Rates and terms of very competitive and have reduced the overall amount I have to repay.

What makes Earnest shine are all of the configuration options throughout the lifespan of the loan. For example, you can have a payment be pulled every two weeks which matches up with a paycheck, you can increase your payments or decrease your payments, and all information is very easy to use and access.

The overall process was very easy.

Daniel B.
University of Pittsburgh - Pittsburgh Campus, Bachelors
Jan 5, 2018

Customer service is horrible!

They're rude, condescending, and don't bother to read your entire message before responding.

Audrey K.
University of California - Los Angeles, MBA
Dec 28, 2017

Great experience.

Earnest has made it really simple to refinance my student loans. The whole process was online with one phone call to verify my identity. You also get to choose your monthly payments and let's you know how much you'll be paying in interest with the amount you've chosen. I would definitely recommend to people

German O.
California State University - Sacramento, Bachelors
Dec 16, 2017

This is how all loan servicers should be

I applied for school loan refinancing with Earnest and got the best interest rate possible, because they didn't just look at one thing in order to determine it. You have to give a lot of financial info which is a little unsettling, but it makes sense. I was able to choose the amount I wanted to pay each month, extending the timeframe for the loan by a few months in order to pay a little less, or shortening the timeframe if I wanted to pay more. I had a few questions that Earnest was able to answer through text or email, which is very convenient! This is how all loan servicers should be.

Alissa Z.
Rutgers the State University of New Jersey, Bachelors
Dec 16, 2017

This is how all loan servicers should be

I applied for school loan refinancing with Earnest and got the best interest rate possible, because they didn't just look at one thing in order to determine it. You have to give a lot of financial info which is a little unsettling, but it makes sense. I was able to choose the amount I wanted to pay each month, extending the timeframe for the loan by a few months in order to pay a little less, or shortening the timeframe if I wanted to pay more. I had a few questions that Earnest was able to answer through text or email, which is very convenient! This is how all loan servicers should be.

Alissa Z.
Rutgers the State University of New Jersey, Bachelors
Dec 15, 2017

Quick, easy process facilitated by pleasant Earnest reps

I started my refinance project with a competing lender (rhymes with LoHi) and wish I would have skipped them altogether. Rude representatives, long, choppy process. Glad I came to Earnest, who recognized and rewarded my creditworthiness that I've worked hard to achieve. Icing on the cake was that each Earnest rep I spoke with was pleasant and knowledgeable.

Christopher S.
Quincy University, Bachelors
Dec 13, 2017

Good rates, not pushy

Earnest had one of the best overall rates and a referral bonus on top of that. Pleased with my decision to refinance with them.

Ryan J.
Brigham Young University-Provo, MBA
Dec 12, 2017

An actual chance was given

A big part of being financially responsible is organization. You know who makes it really hard to stay organized? Financial institutions. There was so much trouble in understanding exactly how much I owed and to whom, especially making mistakes like ignoring the issue. It was a lot to try and reconcile. Earnest is exactly what I needed; a clear stance, a clear design, and clear language throughout the entire process. As someone who works at a company that leads in customer support, I was so delighted by the experience. It made something that is inherently difficult and emotional into something I look forward to doing.

Ashley B.
Ohio State University-Main Campus, Bachelors
Dec 12, 2017

Easy application. Good rates!

The application process was quick and easy. Rates were very competitive. My old loan for refinancing was paid off quickly. I like that there's an iPhone app. I can make an extra payment through that very easily.

Cory S.
University of Rhode Island, PharmD
Dec 11, 2017

So far so good!

Earnest not only got me the lowest interest rate, but also the lowest monthly payment. I felt great after getting my loans out of an unnamed predatory student loan servicer that would not work with me in lowering my payments (I don't make a lot of money). My payments have been affordable and have had nothing but positive experiences with their customer service when I've had to call and ask questions.

Jonathan K.
Savannah College of Art and Design, Bachelors
Dec 11, 2017

Great Customer Service with quick loan disbursement!

Even had a $200 referral in my checking account in less than 2 weeks!

Joseph D.
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, Bachelors
Dec 9, 2017

Attentive

Great experience and quickly completed

Larry K.
Biola University
Dec 7, 2017

Easy and quick process

Easy and quick process. Low rates. The support team was patient and excellent when helping me successfully navigate through the process of uploading all my required documents. I have read that the support staff is always available throughout the terms of the loan so let's hope Earnest continues to provide high customer service-one of the main reasons I chose Earnest!

Shawn B.
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota, Masters of Science or Engineering
Dec 7, 2017

Great so far, for the most part!

I just re-financed with Earnest and they have been great so far! My only complaint is that you can't apply an extra payment throughout the month to the principal only. The only way to do this is to make the extra payment on the day of your payment is due. Earnest seems to be more advanced than their competitors on other levels except in this aspect, as you can simply call and tell other companies to apply the extra payment to the principal and they do. I hope Earnest can improve this aspect of their business!

Nicole F.
South University-Savannah, PharmD
Dec 6, 2017

Very easy to work with

This has been an extremely easy and rewarding process. This change has been with little effort but great reward. I'm glad that I have consolidated with Earnest!

Jason C.
Utah State University, Bachelors
Dec 1, 2017

Some documentation did not upload properly

Some of the required documentation did not submit as easily as I thought it should have. Customer service was extremely helpful though in guiding me through those issues.

Michael L.
Manhattan College, Bachelors
Nov 18, 2017

I feel better

I grew very tired of traditional banks/ lenders. They were constantly buying/selling my loans, providing below average consumer service, and making it very difficult to manage my account. Earnest made it very easy to borrow and I ended up with a lower interest rate. Also, they make it very easy to understand the details of your loan.

Joseph G.
Saint Joseph's University, Bachelors
Nov 13, 2017

Great experience so far

Quick response time, great experience so far.

Ryan B.
Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science, Other Medical
Nov 11, 2017

Knowledgeable Employees

I called Earnest support about 8 times when trying to decide on which lender to go with and 2 more times after I made my decision, with only one exception, my questions were answered to my satisfaction and when folks did not know the answer, I was contacted no later than the next day with a response!

Jay B.
South Florida State College, Associates
Nov 10, 2017

Quick and easy refinance!

I had an Earnest loan previously, loved the experience, and chose to refinance with them again at a better interest rate after a year. Amazing how the interest rates can change. And Earnest was willing to change my loan accordingly. It was quick and easy! So appreciative!!

Charles S.
Harding University, PharmD
Nov 10, 2017

Great rates and service

Had all my student loans refinanced with much better rates, the referral bonus is an amazing plus and all the customer service I had was great!

Brett V.
University of Toledo, PharmD
Nov 10, 2017

Seamless application process.

From start to finish, this has been one of the best experiences I've had; quick, responsive, easy to follow.

Sarah S.
University at Buffalo, MBA
Nov 8, 2017

Great company!

Easy to work with, no one else would give me the opportunity even with really good credit and perfect payment history. Highly recommend.

Brandon M.
The College of Saint Rose, Bachelors
Nov 8, 2017

Wish they were around 15 years ago!

Earnest saved me thousands. Easy, fair and everything was done efficiently. By creating a vehicle to sensibly Refi student loans, They have become the modern antidote to the excessive corruption and abuses led by Sallie Mae's former monopoly and it's unethical and extortionist practices.

Brian F.
DePaul University College of Law, JD
Nov 8, 2017

Easy transition to save a large amount of money

From the beginning to the end of my process to get my student loans to Earnest, everything was extremely easy and the Earnest folks were extremely helpful. Thanks for saving me a bunch of interest on my loans!

Tyler Z.
Briar Cliff University, Bachelors
Nov 3, 2017

Good experience

I was surprised at how simple and fast the process was. I had a few issues before and after getting my loan approved and in both cases, the customer support team was very responsive and helpful. I am glad I did this.

Andrew J.
American University, Other Masters
Oct 27, 2017

Very Easy process

Definitely recommend giving them a shot. Got a great rate and so far I'm liking it

Michael D.
University of Massachusetts, Bachelors
Oct 27, 2017

4 1/2 Stars

Earnest approved my loan refinance, when another company did not. Their website is easy to use and navigate. I believe the interest rate could have been a little lower, but it's still better than my original percentage. The application process took longer than I expected, as they needed additional information from me. Not Earnest's fault as I had some credit issues years back, but is excellent now.

I would definitely recommend Earnest. Hopefully my loan payoff over the years happens without any issues.

Brandon S.
Argosy University-Twin Cities, Associates
Oct 21, 2017

Quick follow-up

Earnest followed up quickly when I had questions during the process, were very helpful in making the refinance simple. Plus it will save me a lot of money in interest!

Abigail B.
Regis University, Other
Oct 18, 2017

Fast & Easy Refinancing

I was able to get approved and refinance my loan to save 3% per year in less than 5 days.

Nick F.
Charleston School of Law, JD
Oct 13, 2017

Smooth and easy process.

The process was timely and very easy to understands and follow. Great individualistic approach!

Wojtek K.
Kutztown University of Pennsylvania, Bachelors
Oct 10, 2017

Great experience.

I kept getting denied from other businesses so when I was approved through Earnest I was ecstatic! The process was smooth and intuitive, and the payoff to my other loans happened faster than I expected. I use the app and auto-pay, which makes everything simple and easy to find. All in all, stellar experience!

Alana C.
Southern New Hampshire University, Bachelors
Oct 7, 2017

Very helpful.

I was relieved instantly by Earnest on my student loan consolidation and refinancing. They are very proactive and without a delay and the interest rate is unbeatable. Awesomness!!!

Foster A.
New York University, Bachelors
Oct 4, 2017

Great rates and customer service.

Great rates and customer service.

Richard L.
Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, DDS
Sep 28, 2017

Happy I took the time

The process to refinance seemed a bit daunting prior to coming to Earnest. With Earnest the process was easy, very thorough and I was informed of the next steps all along the way. Most importantly i'm able to save a lot of money refinancing a student loan that was a high variable rate to a much lower fixed rate with better terms.

Joshua B.
DePaul University, Bachelors
Sep 23, 2017

Easiest most straightforward way to refinance

See headline. Super simple, and their audit mechanism automatically sets up billing if you move forward, which is a great feature.

Frank D.
University of Chicago, MBA
Sep 20, 2017

Very easy and helpful

Makes applying a very easy process with great customer service and great rates too!

Douglas K.
Purdue University, Bachelors
Sep 13, 2017

Easy and helpful.

Transferring my loans to Earnest was very easy and it will save money with a lower interest rate. I am so glad that this is an option. Sallie Mae and Navient have been bilking customers for too long with high interest rates. It's about time that they have serious competition.

Madelyn B.
CUNY Graduate School and University Center, Other
Sep 8, 2017

Quick, Easy, Painless.

After being jerked around by my old loan servicer, refinancing with Earnest was simple and easy.

Elizabeth S.
University of Maryland, Other Masters
Sep 6, 2017

Highly satisfied with my Student Loan Refi.

First of all, customer service is top notch and very efficient. I had an e-mail answer within 5 hours. When I called with a question I never had to wait! They were very helpful and knowledgeable.
Second big factor in my decision was the ability to have payments twice a month. I actually had a lower rate with SoFi but went with Earnest because SoFi did not allow you to have two payments a month. This ended up saving me an entire YEAR of additional payments. So in the long run, I saved more money with Earnest. Happy with my decision.

Elise K.
University of Minnesota, Masters of Arts
Sep 2, 2017

Less debt!

Earnest has allowed me to aggressively pay down my student loan debt.

Brian A.
Ross University, School of Medicine, MD
Aug 26, 2017

Great customer service.

Great customer service. Quick and easy process.

Arthur A.
California Northstate University College of Pharmacy, PharmD
Aug 24, 2017

You guys rock.

So happy I refinanced with Earnest. Great customer service, and I love the flexibility Earnest offers for repayment. Best out there.

Ashley W.
Pepperdine University, JD
Jul 20, 2017

Easy and simple.

Great staff in customer service. Quick to respond to questions. Smooth process in transitioning loans. I was concerned about giving out my info but it was safe and confidential. I have recommended earnest to my colleagues.

Bryson S.
Wingate University, Other Masters
Jul 19, 2017

Great Service.

Helped make dealing with student loans a lot less stressful!

Michael K.
North Carolina State University at Raleigh, Bachelors
Jul 12, 2017

Excellent Customer Service!

I felt wary of making a change from the Federal repayment system, primarily because I was worried that if something unexpected were to happen to me, that my family would be stuck with a large private loan. With a Master's degree, all paid for in loans, that debt number is pretty high and will remain so for a few years. When I expressed my concerns, Jenny, from Earnest replied quickly to my e-mail with information regarding the policy at Earnest (same as Federal), and was very friendly, even through e-mail. I felt like any question or concern was valid, and would be answered promptly and thoroughly. Now, I'm saving almost 100.00 a month in interest, and feeling much more confident that my student loan debt is manageable in a timely manner.

Cassandra F.
Central Michigan University, Masters of Arts
Jul 8, 2017

Extremely helpful and kind staff.

Refinanced my student loan (currently held with Earnest) to get a better, fixed rate. The process was very easy and the customer support was what you'd expect -- excellent.

Bryan S.
Regent University, Masters of Arts
Jul 8, 2017

Not so tech friendly.

Your company's insistence on keeping everything electronic is a significant barrier to getting business done when the technology just doesn't work. It's completely ridiculous that you don't have a fax machine as back-up for when the electronic option isn't feasible. Furthermore, there should be a streamlined application for people who already have Earnest loans and want to re-finance that loan. If I hadn't already invested so much time and energy in my Earnest account I would definitely be taking my business elsewhere, and am considering doing so regardless.

Saskia C.
University of Connecticut, MD
Jul 6, 2017

Couldn't be easier.

I did everything online. I don't think there was so much as an email conversation needed, it was all laid out in front of me and I love the payment amount slider. One recommendation would be for you to add an amortization table for those of us who are more interested in the details. Maybe provide that as a link? Thanks!

Chihiro G. K.
University of California-Los Angeles, MBA
Jul 6, 2017

Genuine customer service.

My experience has been wonderful. I am so glad I refinanced through Earnest. It has been a pleasant and easy experience so far! I really like the perks of the easy-to-use website and re-amoritization!

Amy K.
Armstrong Atlantic State University, Other
Jul 5, 2017

Fast & Easy.

Fast, easy, and I saved ~$150/month on my student loan payment.

Sarah D.
University of Connecticut, JD
Jul 5, 2017

Competent support, 21st century UI, excellent rates.

Earnest is a step above the normal players for student loan servicing in terms of responsiveness, website usability, and rates. I recommend Earnest to all my friends.

Eric B.
Wentworth Institute of Technology, Bachelors
See more reviews

The reviews above were solicited from random sample of Earnest clients since July 2017. All responses are published here in full, and no compensation was provided in exchange for reviews.

What the Experts Think About Earnest